top of page

My Story with Missions


My first experience with out-of-town mission work came in 1990. I had just turned 15 and I traveled with my youth group to St. Louis, MO, where we performed a choir musical and shared with children through back yard Bible clubs. Since that time, I have participated in 20 mission trips to locations throughout the United States and around the world. My participation in such opportunities has shaped my faith tremendously. Few things have challenged my selfishness, stretched my faith, or provided me with greater joy than serving alongside God’s people in an unfamiliar setting for the mission of the gospel. In each of these experiences, God has graciously provided in three primary areas of my life.

  • Relationally—The bonds of friendship have been forged and reinforced as I have travelled thousands of miles to serve alongside other believers for the proclamation of Christ. Whether it be on a van while travelling, in a room packed with air mattresses, swinging a hammer on a worksite, or sharing the gospel through a translator, deep friendships are developed when the church partners together for Kingdom work. I have come to know…and in turn love…individuals in a way that would have otherwise never occurred. Additionally, I have met hundreds of people around the world with whom an eternal bond was developed because we are serving one another as the family of God.

  • Spiritually—Jesus’ command in Matthew 28:19-20 is undeniable for any believer…we are to go! While the gospel goes with us wherever we are (and the need is certainly great in every place), these experiences provide an intentional means toward sharing the gospel. Tremendous spiritual growth occurs when God’s people obediently place themselves in a situation in which they use their spiritual gifts to serve and they depend upon God’s power to do through them what otherwise would be impossible. Jesus’ promise at the end of Matthew 28:20 becomes real…He is with us!

  • Practically—I have visited locations and encountered cultures to which I would have otherwise never been exposed. I have been forced to work with difficult people in difficult situations. Every single trip of which I have been a part involved unplanned circumstances to which I was made to learn how to work with others. I have seen just how cruel this world can be to many people…and I have been challenged with the responsibility to share the abundant blessings of God to my life with others in need.

You will hear this morning from our team that has just returned from a mission trip to Toronto. The laughter we shared, the frustration we experienced, and the prayer that we witnessed being answered will impact us for eternity. This team will share of a small new community of believers in Toronto who have much to teach us about trusting God. And you will hear about a partnership with Alex and Indhira Fleming for the sake of gospel and how we have the opportunity to reach the nations.

Listen attentively and pray about how you can become more involved in missions as opportunities are offered through the ministries of our church. It has never been more inconvenient to work for Christ in our world than now…but it has never been more needed. You will not regret it!

In His Service,

Jason

bottom of page