top of page

Kiss the Waves


As I am writing this article, I am thinking back to just one week ago at this very time of the day. I was literally doubled over in the pains of two kidney stones stubbornly refusing to leave my body. As I bemoaned my own cursed lot in life for having to go through this experience, Genee offered up a unique perspective for which I am eternally grateful. She shared with me a quote which she had heard earlier in the day, a quote which had never come to my attention.

I have learned to kiss the wave that throws me against the Rock of Ages. This quote is credited to Charles Spurgeon, a famous preacher who dealt with his own share of physical ailments. I found it rather thought-provoking, so I spent the next several days testing its own truth in my life.

The quote itself provides a picture that is less than peaceful. One can almost imagine a sailor lost at sea, hanging on for his very life as another cruel wave dashes him against an unrelenting rock. The force of the collision would be almost overwhelming. How could anyone in that situation possibly have appreciation, much less affection toward painful forces which seem to be working toward his doom? Should one sadistically desire pain? Should one implausibly treat evil as though it is somehow pleasant? Undoubtedly, there is only one manner in which this quote can possibly be viewed as reasonable…and even inspiring.

What if the sailor’s plight in the ocean is not a tragic accident or even the result of an unconquerable evil? What if he was put in this position on purpose? What if each crashing wave is with deliberate intention? What if it is by the direct purpose of a Sovereign God that such a situation would occur? And what if the hard rock against which he crashes is not meant for his destruction, but for his salvation? And what if the Sovereign God who designed this situation is not only all-wise, but all-loving? What if this situation was actually meant for the lone sailor’s good?

In the midst of the trying circumstances of life, David would write, “Show me your ways, O LORD, teach me your paths; guide me in your truth and teach me, for you are God my Savior, and my hope is in you all day long” (Psalm 25:4-5). While David would seek God’s guidance and certainly needed God’s strength, it was not primarily some-thing from God which David sought; rather David’s greatest treasure was God Himself. Could we, like David, learn to take every circumstance in life as another opportunity to look solely to the Lord? Might we even learn to love the bad that happens, at least because we know that God will use it to give to us more of Himself?

Thankfully, God chose to “roll away” my stones…for now. However, I can honestly point to specific experiences this past week which have made me appreciate the pain. On one particular morning, I remember an especially joyful time in the Scriptures as God warmed my heart during a less than pleasant time. Also, on the day of my hospital procedure, one of the doctors came to my side for last minute prepping and to apologize that I was going through this. I looked at him confidently (with the help of drugs) and said, “I have learned to kiss the wave that throws me against the Rock of Ages.” While my memory is foggy, he appeared a little taken aback by the statement. Undoubtedly, that doctor is in need of the same Savior to which I so desperately cling. But it serves as proof again that God can use our strangest, weakest, and even most painful moments for His glory.

Learning to kiss the waves,

Jason

bottom of page