top of page

Winning the Worship War


I recently came across a list of comments that I can assume with some certainty are never being said by anyone in the church:

1. “Hey! It's MY turn to sit on the front pew!” 2. “I was so enthralled, I never noticed your sermon went over time 25 minutes.” 3. “Personally, I find witnessing much more enjoyable than golf.” 4. “I've decided to give our church the $500.00 a month I used to send to TV evangelists.” 5. “I volunteer to be the permanent teacher for the Junior High Sunday School class. 6. “Forget the denominational minimum salary: let's pay our pastor so he can live like we do.” 7. “Since we're all here, let's start the worship service early!” 8. “Pastor, we'd like to send you to this Bible seminar in the Bahamas. 9. “Nothing inspires me and strengthens my commitment like our annual stewardship campaign!”

If each of us were honest, we could probably add one more comment to the list: “I enjoy every song that we sing and it inspires me to worship!” In fact, every song that I have ever heard in church worship services was not good. Some songs are not biblically sound, not designed for congregational singing, not understandable, or not presented with excellence. However, the greatest deterrent that keeps me from worship in song is rarely these reasons and typically one much more common…my preference. Preferences are opinions based upon what one likes or dislikes in regard to style. And as one of my football coach’s used to say, “Opinions are like (a less than desirable body part that everyone has), everybody has one!”

Interestingly, the measure of personal preference is never mentioned in the Scriptures in regard to the proper worship of God. Yet, in the local church we have all actively participated in the “worship wars” over music, particularly drawing the battle lines between two camps: hymns and praise and worship songs. In actuality, not all hymns from a former generation are outdated or aloof. In the same manner, not all praise songs are shallow and frivolous. Something old should not be tossed aside simply because it is so, and something new should not be incorporated simply because it is so.

Perhaps Psalm 66:8-12 provides critical insight for the church in our attempts to offer worthy worship to God. “For you, O God, tested us; you refined us like silver. You brought us into prison and laid burdens on our backs. You let men ride over our heads; we went through fire and water, but you brought us to a place of abundance” (Psalm 66:10-12). This is the response of godly faith in worship. This is not the heart of one who sings to God only when he escapes trials or feels happy. Rather, he worships God in the midst of difficulty. The Palmist goes on to write, “I cried out to him with my mouth; his praise was on my tongue. If I had cherished sin in my heart, the Lord would not have listened” (66:17-19). Certainly the Lord does not answer us based on any of our own merit, but only on the basis of grace. In response to His grace, we offer Him allegiance, faith, and obedience. If we nurture sin in our hearts, and then turn to God for help, why should God not respond with the judgment and discipline that we rightfully deserve?

As we gather for worship with God’s people, perhaps our focus on preference should diminish. Worship that pleases God has less to do with how we feel and more to do with what is true. Likewise, worship that honors God must be connected with the obedience and righteousness associated with a clean heart.

All Glory to God,

Jason

bottom of page