top of page

The Hand that Rocks the Cradle


During the summer of 1996, I participated in a trip with my mom and a couple of dozen others to the Republic of China. My mom, who worked at the Woman’s Missionary Union, was charged with leading a tour designed to introduce participants to the history of Christian missions in China and current missionary work at that time. My mom, myself, and a couple of dozen Senior Adults made the 7,000 mile trip to world’s largest Communist nation…interesting to say the least! For two weeks we toured the most historical sites in China, ate authentic Chinese cuisine (which resulted in many visits to the bathroom!), and met missionaries who are giving their lives for the sake of the gospel. As you might imagine, this ragtag group of Alabamians was something many in this closed nation were not quite prepared to understand. On one occasion we were asked as to who was the most famous person from our region of the U.S.A. My mom quickly responded, saying, “Bear Bryant!” (Of course!) It was during this trip that God created in me a greater understanding of just how much He loves all peoples in all cultures and how the Church must use every resource to give them the gospel of Jesus Christ.

However, in addition to this, I came to realize the unique blessing of my mother. As she fearlessly led our group through a foreign nation I saw firsthand her patience, gentleness, wisdom, and Christ-like love in a manner I had previously missed. My mom had always been these things to me and my family, yet I came to appreciate her even more. As a child, I never doubted the love of my mother. God used her and my father as the greatest influences which would eventually lead me to Christ. Yet, as an adult, I can more fully appreciate all that God has given me in her.

What I could not have understood then, but can now begin to appreciate, is that my parents were laying a foundation for my future mate and children. Every day I experience the great challenge and privilege of raising children to follow the Lord. I am constantly amazed at the delicate care, godly wisdom, and steadfast resolve with which Genee, my wife, mothers Josiah and Allieray. God will undoubtedly have to make course corrections for my children due to our own parenting imperfections (mostly from their father!), but they will never enter a day wondering whether or not they have been shown the love of Christ and been prayed for by their mom. One day, like us, they will be able to more fully appreciate the generation before them. It is said (often with great disdain) that children are destined to become their parents. Along with Genee, I can say that we would pray to become no less. And as the baton of raising a household is passed on to the next generation, our children will realize the hand of God in preparing them to advance the gospel in and through their own families. In this the Psalmist’s words are fulfilled, “One generation shall praise your works to another, and shall declare your mighty acts” (Psalm 145:4).

There is perhaps not a more difficult, important, or needed role than that of a godly mom. I am so thankful that my children’s mother, by God’s grace, is up for the task. Genee came across a quote which she shared with me that explains the wonder and power of a godly wife and mom.

You may have tangible wealth untold; caskets of jewels and coffers of gold. Richer than I you can never be. I had a mother (and wife) who prayed for me.

Mothering must be exhausting. Yet, I am so appreciative for the women in my life who continually pray for me and my children. God alone knows how full heaven will be because of the prayers and character of godly mothers (Luke 2:19).

Thanking God for my wife and my mom,

Jason

bottom of page