top of page

Lessons From Dad


After a quarter of a century as a follower of Jesus Christ, I can more fully appreciate the Apostle Paul’s declaration after years of following Jesus—“Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners, of whom I am the worst” (1 Timothy 1:15). Yet, while my need for God’s mercy is ever more apparent, I am also striving to follow Jesus Christ with a clear conscience. God’s grace upon me has not been without effect as He is continuing to make me more into the image of my Savior each new day. My journey in following Jesus Christ is solely the work of God’s grace in me (Titus 3:4-6). However, the godly influence of others upon my life has been used by God to make me the man, husband, father, friend, and pastor to which He has called me. There has been no greater example to me of these things than that of my Dad.

My older brother and I are both pastors (Cary serves at a church in Ohio). I have often heard people ask my parents what was so special about their parenting that they would have raised two pastors (as though our calling to ministry is any more spectacular than a calling to another profession). I have heard my parents answer with the humble reply that a close-knit family that is pursuing and serving Christ is all the work of God’s mercy. While the cross of Christ alone is our only boast (Galatians 6:14), there are specific traits within my father’s character along with difficult, yet godly decisions which he has made that continue to have an eternal impact upon my life.

1. Dad treated Mom with utmost respect and stayed the course in the covenant of marriage. Christ commands that husbands love their wives even as He loves the Church (Ephesians 5:25), and this is the example I saw every day in our home. No marriage is without difficulty, yet for more than fifty years my Dad continues to lay a foundation and legacy of one man, one woman, for life.

2. Dad was the unquestioned spiritual leader in our home. Many of my friends were dropped off at church. I was never among them. There was never a time when Dad was not serving the church in some capacity. Along with this, my parents kept us in the same church during our years of growing up. The lure of a better church down the road was stymied by faithful commitment to the same congregation.

3. Dad worked with diligence and integrity. There were times when promotions and career advancements were turned down for the betterment of the family. Giving us a better life did not necessarily mean a bigger paycheck, but he never missed out on our childhood.

4. Dad always made time to laugh. At times life was hard and very serious, but he never took himself too seriously. We didn’t get everything we wanted, but we had everything we needed because our home was full of joy.

5. Dad tended to a personal relationship with Jesus Christ. My childhood memories are flooded with seeing my Dad reading his Bible and leading us in prayer. He was not perfect, but his faith was real.

I know that my childhood may be very different than others. Your relationship with your father may or may not be pleasant. One’s view of his/her earthly father unquestionably effects his/her view of our Heavenly Father. Regardless of your experience, our Heavenly Father loves us and longs for a relationship with us through Christ. May we seek Him and honor Him today even as we honor the earthly fathers which God has given to us. And may every father rise up to lead his family in following Christ.

Jason

bottom of page