top of page

Ripple of Obedience


Do you ever wonder about what kind of impact you are making for Christ? If you are like me, you may read the stories of great men and women of God and visualize their amazing boldness for Christ. However, in comparison, it may seem as though your capacity in effectiveness for the Kingdom of God is less than remarkable. I was reminded of a story that will hopefully encourage your boldness in sharing the gospel.

Few have ever heard of Edward Kimball. His name is a footnote in the annals of church history. But he was the Sunday School teacher who led D.L. Moody to Christ. He went one afternoon to the Boston shoe store where the nineteen-year-old Moody was working, cornered him in the stockroom, and introduced him to Christ.

Kimball was the antithesis of the bold evangelist. He was a timid, soft-spoken man. He went to that shoe shop frightened, trembling, and unsure of whether he had enough courage to confront this young man with the gospel. At the time, Moody was crude and obviously illiterate, and the thought of speaking to him about Christ had Kimball trembling in his boots. Kimball recalled the incident years later. Moody had begun to attend his Sunday school class. It was obvious that Moody was totally untaught and ignorant about the Bible. Kimball said,

I decided to speak to Moody about Christ and about his soul. I started down town to Holton’s shoe store. When I was nearly there I began to wonder whether I ought to go just then during business hours. And I thought maybe my mission might embarrass the boy, that when I went away the other clerks might ask who I was, and when they learned might taunt Moody and ask if I was trying to make a good boy out of him. While I was pondering over it all I passed the store without noticing it. Then, when I found I had gone by the door I determined to make a dash for it and have it over at once.

Kimball found Moody working in the stockroom, wrapping and shelving shoes. Kimball said he spoke with “limping words.” He later said, “I never could remember just what I did say: something about Christ and His love; that was all.” He admitted it was a “weak appeal.” But Moody then and there gave his heart to Christ.

Of course, D.L. Moody was used mightily by the Lord as an evangelist both in America and England. His ministry made a massive impact on both sides of the Atlantic, spanning most of the second half of the nineteenth century. Tens of thousands testified that they came to Christ because of his ministry. Moody subsequently founded Moody Bible Institute, where thousands of missionaries, evangelists, and other Christian workers have been trained during the past century and sent out into all the world. All of that began when one man was faithful to introduce another individual to Christ.

—John MacArthur, Twelve Ordinary Men

This story encourages me greatly to fight through my fears and share my faith with others. We are reminded of Paul’s words about this very matter when he was taking the gospel to others. “And I was with you in weakness and in fear and much trembling, and my speech and my message were not in plausible words of wisdom, but in demonstration of the Spirit and of power, so that your faith might not rest in the wisdom of men but in the power of God” (1 Corinthians 2:3-5).

Look for opportunities to share the gospel with others today. Whether it be through the ministry of our church as we reach out to our community, or in sharing with someone at work or even in your family, make the decision to see it through. Only eternity will reveal the full impact of your obedience. But what a day that will be when you glorify God for all that He did through you!

Jason

bottom of page